Tips for Self Promotion, Sales, and Advertising discussion

I have a question...

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Trina (new)

Trina Sonnenberg (tlcpro) | 19 comments Hello; I am new around here. My name is Trina Sonnenberg, and I need some pointers.

I self-published a book last year; a book of poetry. LuLu.com was great, but I want a publishing house to handle the book that I've just ,today, finished. Can anyone tell me what the process for submitting to a publishing house is, and help me in choosing one to submit to? I have no idea what to do next.

My book is a novel; a love story.

Thanx, in advance, for the help.
Trina

message 2: by Chariss (new)

Chariss Walker | 18 comments I would also like to know how to be picked up by an established publishing house after you have a book in print. It seemed like when I was looking for a publisher before I opted to self-publish, the main complaint was that I was a new author. Now that I have a book published, how do I find a publisher who will work for me?
My books are non-fiction.
Thanks for anyone who wants to help.

message 3: by Rowena (new)

Rowena (Rowenacherry) | 334 comments Mod
Hello, Chariss and Trina.

If you write Romance, consider joining Romance Writers of America. rwanational.org

It will cost you $75 a year, and after that you can buy membership in local, regional, genre chapters of RWA.

If you don't write Romance, you might join EPIC (really for electronically published authors) epicauthors.com

Finding a New York publishing house, and an editor who is eager to acquire you/your work is a long, difficult, expensive quest for most of us. Tales of spending 6-12 years are not uncommon.... and that was before the downturn.