Terminalcoffee discussion

Books / Writing > What's all the hubub about J.M. Coetzee

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sally, la reina (new)

Sally (mrsnolte) | 17320 comments Mod
I know you recently finished Waiting for the Barbarians, RA. And I recall reading an epic thread that stemmed from a review of another of this author's books.

What's the deal? Is he the current it writer of the moment? Are all the cool kids reading him? Or are all the cool kids reviewing his books en masse because getting him, and having an opinion on his style is the hip thing to do?

I honestly need to know if this is somebody I need to be reading. Anybody?

message 2: by Richard (new)

Richard | 347 comments Jessica used to have a crush on him, but I see she's either updated her opinion or just her profile.

As a South African author, I have referred to Coetzee as "our father who art in Oz" (he now lives in Australia), because he has quite an influence on the SA literary scene and elsewhere.

He writes compact novels, so it's quite easy to get a taste of his style. Disgrace is in my all-time top ten, and I also thoroughly enjoyed The Life and Times of Michael K.

And had I mentioned he is a Nobel laureate?

message 3: by Matt (new)

Matt | 819 comments I'm so totally unhip (*bows head*), but yes, you should definitely check out "Waiting for the Barbarians." It was published in 1980 but reads almost like an allegorical critique of the Bush administration's handling of the war on terror - especially in regards to the "you're with us or against us" mentality immediately following the 9/11 attacks.

Aside from that, there are so many other themes woven into this short read (160 pgs.) that do not seem overly labored as Coetzee is the master of saying a lot with few words.