Movies We've Just Watched discussion

ACTION Flicks > The Dark Knight (Christopher Nolan)

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alex DeLarge (last edited Jan 15, 2009 02:38PM) (new)

Alex DeLarge | 851 comments OK, everyone who has read my reviews (I appreciate all the kind words, really. I'm not a professional writer just a guy who studies, reads about, and loves cinema) knows that I write with affection, rarely with unkind words. You see where this is going. I grew up buying Frank Miller's DAREDEVIL comics off the local spinning metal newsrack, the kind that always dog-eared the corners and had grease pencil scrawled across the cover by the fat cigar-chomping guy so he knew when to pull it (sans cover) for credit. I still own every freakin' Miller book including his original DARK KNIGHT RETURNS. He redefined a fading genre, catapulted the aging superhero in pajamas into the dark terrain of the 20th century: he made Batman an anti-hero with the best of intentions. His insightful writing and dramatic artwork, while not always perfect, truly captures the spirit (or SPIRIT, ala Will Eisner) of ordered chaos, of anarchy, of the deconstruction of modern morality, a danse macabre with our alter egos. Brilliant. I urge everyone who reads this review to pick up a copy of DAREDEVIL #191 (can be had for a few bucks) and discover the apotheosis of the super-hero genre. Skip this dreck.