Crazy People of the World! discussion

Books > Me, myself and 'The Far Out Cafe'

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stuart (new)

Stuart Chambers | 4 comments Hello,

I am thinking I might just have found the perfect group for me %-/

I am kind of new to this, so, bear with me ... confident in who I am and what I do but seemingly new to the world of the self publishing and what to do and where to do it and I would therefore so very much welcome your help, support and ideas.
I have been writing for years. Writing has always been my first love. I wrote my first screenplay when I was seventeen and sold it to the BBC. I have written numerous scripts for documentaries and films and have just published my first novel, ‘The Far Out Café’ and it is now available on Amazon.

To be honest I wrote two novels prior to this one but see this as a learning curve. The first novel was called ‘The Dance of the Daemon Clowns’ and about a time traveling Russian called Nietsky - (It means - ‘No’) and please feel - free to use it as an idea. A friend of mine was a character actor and he had a friend who was a literary agent. The literary agent really liked the book but thought I would be compared to Douglas Adams (Hitchhikers guide) and Terry Pratchett (Disc world) … even though at no time had I sought to emulate either one of them. So, I wrote my second novel, ‘The Last Big Valley’ about a group of people I had actually met who had effectively dropped out of the real world and created their own at the base of a remote mountain. The idea appealed, the literary agent liked my style and my writing but not the idea - Not mainstream enough!! What is main stream I thought, not me! So, I wrote The Far Out Café solely and completely for myself and as such see this as my best work.