Gone with the Wind Gone with the Wind question

If not Scarlett O'Hara, best Southern Belle character?
Elaine Walsh Elaine Jun 12, 2012 05:43PM
Self absorbed, manipulative and conniving are a few of the words that describe one of the most famous southern belles in literautre. How could someone with so few redeeming qualities grab readers by the collar and pull them into such an expansive story that keeps the reader turning page after page? She was a survivor. A woman who played a man's game using one of the few tools available to woman of her time, her sexuality. Mostly, she was memorable. To me, she is the queen of the southern belle character for that very reason.

As a writer, I want my own characters to be memorable and stay with the reader long after the last page. What is more memorable than a southern belle? http://j.mp/KRwS9z

Why, it was Miss Melanie who was the perfect Southern Belle, not Miss Scarlett. Melanie was the self-disciplined, gentle, kind, tolerant and wise pillar of Southern society. Scarlett was the bad girl, who defied all the conventions and refused to follow the rules, looking out for herself without thought of decorum, decency or other people's feelings. That is why readers love her, of course. [And deep in our hearts we know that, if we had been there, we probably would have been one of those hapless, mealymouthed women in the background who were not loved despite carefully following all the rules!] I agree that Scarlett is by far the most compelling and willful personality in all Southern fiction!

Cynthia Agree with you 100% also!
Nov 04, 2012 06:37AM · flag
Mariana I was going to write a long comment explaining why Melanie was the true Southern Belle, but you've already done it for me! ...more
Aug 04, 2013 08:25PM · flag

Don't forget Jezebel ! Bette Davis did a remarkable translation of the character.

MELANIE WILKES. No question about it XD