Sci-Fi Romance discussion

Talk Genre > SFR that's not erotica

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Smith (rlsauthor) | 44 comments I'm just getting started in reading SFR. I have the list from Galaxy Express, but it's more than a little overwhelming.

I'm looking for recommendations of good books that are *not* erotica. I like dark, I'm good with steamy/hot, I just don't want erotica. Since I'm a newb it's so hard to tell the difference, even with samples for my Nook.

I'd prefer to keep the military ones to a minimum and I'm not interested in futuristic or heavy on the paranormal. I'm looking for classic science fiction type stuff.

namericanwordcat | 156 comments So, how would you define classic SF? This might might recs easier.

message 3: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Smith (rlsauthor) | 44 comments Not futuristic or heavy on the paranormal. I love space opera. I like epic, I like deep themes, I like social commentary couched in the distant future. I just don't want erotica or paranormal or things set a few years in the future.

message 5: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Smith (rlsauthor) | 44 comments No, I haven't. Thank you! I'll add them to my list.

message 6: by Carolyn F. (new)

Carolyn F. | 334 comments I'm reading Shards of Honour Shards of Honour (Vorkosigan Saga, #1) by Lois McMaster Bujold by Lois McMaster Bujold and am loving them. There is kissing and some love talk but nothing intricate. I think you'd love these too Rachel.

message 7: by Marjorie (new)

Marjorie Friday Baldwin (marjoriefbaldwin) | 76 comments Rachel, I was going to HIGHLY recommend you to Lois McMaster Bujold's series. Cordelia's Honor has both Shards and the "second half" of that story (it's nearly seamless the way the book Barrayar picks up where Shards left off--like an hour later!