Philadelphia Book Club discussion

restart club?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 52 (52 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Maggie (new)

Maggie | 3 comments Hi folks,

I'm new to Philly and miss my old book club. It doesn't look like this group's been meeting for a while but let me know if you're open to changing that. I loved the description of this club and would be very interested in finding others that feel the same.

Maggie

message 2: by Brianne (new)

Brianne Jeffrey (biolobri) | 1 comments Hi Maggie -
I'm new to the city myself and am looking to meet some new people. I also identified with the description and would love to be part of something like this. At the very least perhaps that two of us could choose a book & meet to discuss, although hopefully others would join us. Any interest?

Bri

message 3: by Mo (new)

Mo (momanklang) | 9 comments Hi Maggie and Brianne,

I'd be interested as well! I've lived here for a long time but I'm looking for more people to chat books with and to give me a bit of a kick to read more.

Mo

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

I had one going before and it all kind of fell apart. People were not finishing the book and things along that nature but I would be willing to try again.

message 6: by Maggie (new)

Maggie | 3 comments Hi guys, I had given up hope and stopped checking Good Reads but am excited that folks seem interested. I can't access the group that Michael posted but I would like to try and meet up sometime to select a book.

message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

If people are interested in starting a book club we should have an idea of tastes or options. For instance do we rule out certain books? Like Sci-Fi or Biography?

For example our group read fiction. Some of the books we read were Lucky Jim, Motherless Brooklyn, The Master & Margarita.

We would meet and each time one person would make a selection. So everyone got a chance to pick a book.