THE JAMES MASON COMMUNITY BOOK CLUB discussion

Authors and Their Books > Self-pubished author seeking advice

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Joe (new)

Joe Turbessi (joeturbessi) | 3 comments Hey all,

I'm a self-published author wondering if any of you that have been successful at it might share some things that did really well for you... perhaps some marketing you did that really worked or anything...

I appreciate any and all...

Joe

message 2: by Howard (new)

Howard Loring (howardloringgoodreadscom) | 283 comments Joe, self promote, there's no one else who knows your product or you as you do.

Write press releases & follow them up.

Do give-aways (in a limited number).

Go to book stores, or small shops with a good following in your area (at first) & set up signings that you promote with press releases, etc.

Do you have a website or Facepage? Document everything you do there, plus pictures, etc.

The internet is also a trove of marketing tips, good luck.

message 3: by Boyd (new)

Boyd Lemon (goodreadscomboydlemon) | 67 comments Joe, I have had the best response by commenting or guest blogging on popular blogs that relate to the subject matter of my books and just leaving this signature line....

Boyd Lemon-Author of “Eat, Walk, Write: An American Senior’s Year of Adventure in Paris and Tuscany,” "Digging Deep: A Writer Uncovers His Marriages," the author’s journey to understand his role in the destruction of his three marriages and “Unexpected Love and Other Stories. Information, reviews and excerpts: http://www.BoydLemon-Writer.com.
Travel blog: http://boomertravelblog.com.
Retirement blog: http://FulfillingRetirementAdvice.com

message 4: by Joe (new)

Joe Turbessi (joeturbessi) | 3 comments Thank you both very much, definitely good advice..