Lord of The Rings discussion

Welcome

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mitchell (new)

Mitchell (mbjorgensen) | 4 comments This is a place to introduce yourself to the group. Please introduce yourself and explain some of your interests in the group ie: why you joined, what you are hoping to get out of the group and anything else that comes to mind.

message 2: by Mitchell (new)

Mitchell (mbjorgensen) | 4 comments I am Mitchell (sometimes Jorgie) I am a Educational Professional Development Trainer. I teach teachers/librarians and other educators how to use technology in their classrooms. I first read The Hobbit: Or There and Back Again and then The Lord of the Rings in 4th grade. My Dad was amazed and a little disgruntled he had read them when he was teaching 8th grade and said they were pretty complex. I have reread the series every couple of years, but it wasn't until after college and I, myself was teaching that I was able to finish The Silmarillion. I joined because the stories in the books have become such a huge part of my own personal story that I just wanted to interact with some other fans. I am not an immersed fan. I don't speak, or read any Middle-Earth Languages. I have only dressed up twice as a Middle-Earth character both times were for Halloween. Haven't been to any conventions, or the like. Just a huge fan of the books and their literary value. After all Tolkien is the Father of modern Epic Fantasy Novels.

message 3: by Pandy (new)

Pandy | 2 comments Hi everyone! I joined this group to read some others' thoughts on Tolkien's wonderful books.