Genealogy discussion

Black & White Genealogy

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Pat (new)

Pat Simmons (goodreadscomauthorpatsimmons) | 10 comments I'm listening to Inheriting The Trade on audio tape, and I'm enjoying it. Thomas Norman Dewolf describes his journey of uncovering his family's root as the largest slave-trading dynasty in the U-S.

I learn when I hear or read the genealogy of other races. I know, and I'm still learning about slavery on both sides of my family, but what I don't hear are the stories from descendants of slavemasters. I applaud this author for opening up the door.

I would love to hear from Will--I believe--whose's family was the largest slaveholder in SC. Any information you know about the Jamieson slaveholders, plantation, etc., I would love to hear.
Okay, enough rambling. I need to go and write for a few hours on my novel.
Be blessed everybody.
Pat

message 2: by Will (last edited Jan 06, 2009 07:49PM) (new)

Will (oldbosun) | 4 comments They were the Joneses. They lived in upstate South Carolina, they were in cotton: everything from farming to ginning (I used to play in the old cotton gin when I went to my Mother's home). The house was somewhat isolated (the city has since absorbed it) and sat on a small rise until 1880, when a massive earthquake lifted the house onto a shallow bluff: the back porch was separated from the house by two feet and several steps.