Fantasy Aficionados discussion

Discussions about books > Fantasy Shame

Comments Showing 1-50 of 189 (189 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4

message 1: by Michael (new)

Michael | 10 comments I do a lot of reading in coffee shops and other public places and I've noticed that I'll often carry my fantasy titles so that the covers are obscured from onlookers. When I leave a book sitting upon a tabletop, more oft than not I place it cover facing down. Am I alone on this? I'm new to the fantasy genre, so should I expect to grow out of this phase?

message 2: by Traci (new)

Traci I did this in high school. If you're new you might "grow" out of it. A lot of covers aren't so bad anymore. When I was embarrassed was the heyday of Dragonlance. Which is ironic because when someone did notice what I was reading the feedback was usually good. Kids can be weird I guess. So. No shame. Not anymore.

message 3: by MrsJoseph *grouchy*, *good karma* (new)

MrsJoseph *grouchy* (mrsjoseph) | 7282 comments You'll totally grow out of it! :-) I used to do that, too. My friends all wanted me to "read something more serious." One day it occurred to me...I never saw them with books, period! How could they tell me what to read? And why do they care? And sometimes fantasy is deadly serious...and sometimes it's fun...but it's always your business and no one else.

message 4: by MrsJoseph *grouchy*, *good karma* (new)

MrsJoseph *grouchy* (mrsjoseph) | 7282 comments Just as an evil afterthought...as I stopped caring as much, I started talking glee in going places with whatever tome I was reading and plop it out no matter where I was. Sometimes more than one. ;-) The conversation would usually evolve from "What are you reading?!" to "You read all that??"

message 5: by Janny (new)

Janny (jannywurts) | 181 comments Interesting discussion. I never gave a flat damn who saw what I was reading, then or now - if anyone has a problem with this, it's their issue, not mine.