Pulp Fiction discussion

The Grifters
This topic is about The Grifters
Group Reads > June 2012 - The Grifters

Comments Showing 1-36 of 36 (36 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kim (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kim I'm still fairly new to noir and while I've never read any Jim Thompson before I've heard his name, and that of his works, come up a few times. This month we'll read his classic 60's noir, The Grifters. It was also turned into a successful, Oscar-nominated film in 1990.

I'm looking forward to delving once more into the murky world of noir, let us know what you think of this book.

message 2: by Michael, Anti-Hero (new) - rated it 3 stars

Michael (knowledgelost) | 279 comments Mod
Watching the movie doesn't count :P I've not read the book but I did enjoy the movie so I'm looking forward to this one too

message 3: by Mohammed (last edited Jun 01, 2012 12:12AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mohammed  Burhan Abdi Osman (mohammedaosman) No movie can capture the style of Jim Thompson no matter how good it is. What a small world, my other fav noir writer Donald E. Westlake was oscar nominated for writing the screenplay to The Grifters 1990 film.

I collect all of his books and would have got this book for the group read but im leaving for vacation and will be back late July. Not alot of cheap internet, book talks online in Somalia ;)

message 4: by Tom (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tom Vater (goodreadscomtom_vater) | 12 comments Mohammed, a holiday in Somalia should outshine Jim Thompson in Noirish ambience any time. Stay safe.

Mohammed  Burhan Abdi Osman (mohammedaosman) Tom wrote: "Mohammed, a holiday in Somalia should outshine Jim Thompson in Noirish ambience any time. Stay safe."

Yeah its not too safe exactly but im going to the calmest parts that is North eastern Somalia. The parts the trouble is pirates that hijack rich western company ships. Im visiting my aunt otherwise not much reason to go the old homeland these days.