Drama and Theatre discussion

Techniques requested - for tired voice

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amy (new)

Amy | 32 comments Hi Everybody:

I'm hoping someone (or many someones) on this list can offer some advice or techniques for dealing with a very tired voice. I'm currently in a production of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf and I find that by the time I've reached the end of Act 3 I am almost afraid that my voice will give out on me completely. I've never had any kind of vocal problems before, our house is very small and has good acoustics, so this is kind of a new problem for me. Usually I'm the person everyone is able to hear and understand, but Martha's vocal fireworks are beginning to worry me. Any advice, techniques, remedies are welcome.

Thanks in advance!

CaptKirk42 Classic Whovian (klandersen) I'm not an expert on vocals but my first two thoughts are:
1) Are you using an accent you don't normally speak with?

2) I don't mean to offend with this next one but do you smoke?
If not no problems, if so perhaps you are drying out your vocal cords.

Perhaps you can try some things that singers do (I think are intended to keep their voices flexible.) AVOID SODAS! Drink Tea.

Maybe drink only water?
Hopefully someone with better advice will answer.

message 3: by Amy (new)

Amy | 32 comments Thanks Kirk. You reminded me of some things I should have said in my original post. No accents or strange configurations of my voice are involved. I'm speaking in my normal stage voice for the most part. I'm not a smoker, so that should not be an issue. I think its just more that talking almost non-stop for 3+ hours is unusual for me. Does anyone know anything about slippery elm? Its been mentioned as something helpful.

message 4: by Erin (new)

Erin (wwwgoodreadscomgenregirl) Unfortunately, I have had to deal with this issue - to the point of completely losing my voice in a run of Antigone!