The Gunroom discussion

Any Sharpe Fans?

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kristin (new)

Kristin (kristinbattestella) | 2 comments Hey folks. Just joined, the dastardly young girl who reads Hornblower and Sharpe! Whodathunkit? I'm just starting out with Sharpe, and of course I'm comparing everything in it to Hornblower? Any takers?

Kristin

message 2: by Brad (last edited Jan 02, 2009 07:33AM) (new)

Brad (judekyle) | 19 comments I haven't read Hornblower, but I plan to. I am a Sharpe fan, though. I think he is a nice foil for Aubrey/Maturin (even if Cornwell isn't quite the writer O'Brian is); he is much darker and I really enjoy his struggle to come to terms with his personal ethics.

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

I love Bernard Cornwell and Sharpe. I agree with Brad that he is not as strong as O'Brian is, but his novels are much better than a lot of the other fiction that is out there right now. The battle scenes are always excellent and detailed. Cornwell always said he was inspired by reading Forester's Rifleman Dodd (aka Death To The French), because he wanted that to be its own series a la Hornblower.

message 4: by Bob (new)

Bob (bobwhitson) | 9 comments I take Sharpe for the same reason I take medicine. Even though it tastes bad, I know it’s good for me and makes me a better person. :)

message 5: by Kristin (new)

Kristin (kristinbattestella) | 2 comments Yes the more recent Sharpe Books I've found to be lower in quality, but I've still got plenty to read. The original core of books I really love, though. I like Cornwell's battle action, but I like the intimate feel of Sharpe more-his thoughts and motivations. That's probably from reading too much Hornblower!

fwiw, I have reviewed a few sharpe books along with the telemovies. Keeps me occupied!

http://ithinkthereforeireview.blogspo...

message 6: by Eric_W (new)