Inkheart (Inkworld, #1) Inkheart discussion

I love "Inkheart" and "Harry Potter" -- where do I go now?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 86 (86 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Kathryn (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:58PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kathryn I'm relatively new to the fantasy genre and would love some recommendations on books to add to my collection! I loved "Inkheart" and the Harry Potter books--I'm looking for more stories like this, well-written with elements of fantasy and/or magic, yet with a greater message. I.e., it's not JUST about the fantastical elements but they fit together to explain elements of human nature, society... Children's or Young Adult books would be great. And I don't mind long books if they're good! Advance thanks!!!

message 2: by Ann (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:59PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ann Hello Kathryn,
I've yet to read "Inkheart" but, like you, *love* the Harry Potter series!!
I might also recommend the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and
The Mysterious Benedict Society.
Hope this helps some!

message 3: by X (last edited Aug 25, 2016 02:04PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

X Have you read The Chronicles of Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones? It's been a while since I read them, so I don't know if there is a greater message, but they were good books and quick to read.

message 4: by Ann (last edited Aug 25, 2016 02:05PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ann We'll have to check into those, thanks!

message 5: by Kecia (last edited Aug 25, 2016 02:06PM) (new)

Kecia Another good one is The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. I have not read the other 2 books in the series but the first book at least is a great fantasy/adventure story. Like Harry Potter it won the Carnegie Medal.

message 6: by Veronica (last edited Aug 25, 2016 02:06PM) (new)