Glens Falls (NY) Online Book Discussion Group discussion

Announce your Goodreads writing > Historical fiction

Comments Showing 1-50 of 64 (64 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by +Chaz (new)

+Chaz
Hi, I’ came across this site by accident but would like to try this out. It seems to hold many different subtopics. I am interested in Historical fiction as I have been writing one for five years with 150,000 words on paper. I would like to find out what people want in this genre. When possible I would like to send a few pages, say 5 to 10 pages for evaluation and input; but only honest responses. I hope there is an interest here. I’m getting a lot of help from a member name Minnie, but I need different viewpoints.

Peace
Charles

message 2: by Joy H., Group Founder (last edited Dec 16, 2008 09:34AM) (new)

Joy H. (joyofglensfalls) | 16697 comments Hello Charles. Welcome to our group. It's nice to see you here.

I found your Goodreads writing webpage. Below is a link to it: ====>
http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/1...

Is that the writing about which you'd like to receive comments?

If not, please post the writing in question at your Goodreads writing webpage. Then post the link to it here.

I hope some folks will see this topic and follow up on it.

You said you would like to find out what people want in the genre of historical fiction. I myself enjoy fictionalized biographies. Back in the 1950s I enjoyed reading _Love is Eternal_ by Irving Stone, the fictionalized story of Abraham Lincoln and his wife, Mary Todd Lincoln. After that I continued to read other kinds of historical fiction and usually enjoyed it.

The latest fictionalized biography I'm reading is _The Master_ by Colm Toibin.
Below is a link to that discussion in this group: ====>
http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/8...

I wish you the best of luck with your writing.

message 3: by Andy (new)

Andy | 25 comments Hi Charles,