Yoga Folks discussion

Archived threads > Kids' Yoga

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Johanna (new)

Johanna | 4 comments Hi, my name is Johanna - I am new to the group.

I have been asked to teach a kids' yoga class over Christmas break and am wondering if anyone has any advice? I am a new teacher... I went through my 200 hour Yoga Alliance training from March through August last year. I am not currently teaching regularly but am hoping to get started soon.

Any advice as to how long a kids' class should be, or suggestions to keep them interested would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Namaste,

Johanna

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Johanna:

What sort of group is it? I think that'll help us give ideas.

Are they all the same age? Will these kids all be brand-new to yoga?

I did ChildLight Yoga teacher training recently, but haven't actually led any classes yet. Maybe someone else here will have ideas, too! :)

Emma

message 3: by Kim (new)

Kim Hi Johanna: I've never taught yoga, but I have taught art and I think the main thing to do with kids is to make it fun. If kids are having fun, they will learn and enjoy learning. I learned some yoga when I was a kid and it stuck with me. I think they also like a challenge. I know yoga isn't about pushing yourself but if you make it a kind of a game and not a competition I think they would enjoy it. Just my two cents. Good luck with it!

Oh, it's also always good to start off with some ground rules too, like raising your hand to get their attention etc. And if you love it they will love it too.

message 4: by Johanna (new)