Best Teen Books discussion

10 YA Books I Bought for the Holidays

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kim (new)

Kim | 47 comments
Hey, last minute shoppers. Looking for the YA reader on your list? As an author, I often get asked to share the titles I buy people for the holidays. Here’s the list this year in no particular order. I’ve put a little star (*) by them if they are for mature readers (you know mature themes with sex and drugs and such) but I think all were tastefully done.

1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Actually, I bought the trilogy. Uglies. Pretties. Specials. Future. Environmental. Cleanly written and fast-paced. They’re wonderful for the hard to please reader.

2. You Remind Me of You by Eireann Corrigan (*)
For the language lover. A writer’s writer. Hands down, she’s one of the best writers in YA (in my opinion) for her raw lyricism. These are all poems but have a story arc. Delicious.

3. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff (*)
Beautifully written futuristic tale that packs an emotional punch. All of my students have loved this one.

4. The Tribes of Palos Verdes by Joy Nicholson (*)
For the surfer in your life. Or the person who just likes a really good story about a girl trying to make sense of her life. My male students have also loved the rich writing and tone of this novel.

5. Looking for Alaska by John Green (*)
Funny, heartbreaking, so well written it makes me want to cry. For the Catcher in the Rye fan in your life.

6. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
My friend and I were talking yesterday about the single literary relationship that defined our childhoods…Gil and Anne. Hands down. I will never stop loving these books.

7. I Was A Teenage Fairy by Francesca Lia Block(*)
Wild, interesting writing. Great characterization. Block’s books are for the edgy reader in your life who is still, deeply, a romantic.

8. Saving Zoe by Alyson Noel (*)