On Reading Graphic Novels discussion

Western Art and Graphic Novels

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Caleb (new)

Caleb Schultz (CalebBen) | 2 comments Hi all. I am completely new to Graphic Novels. Ever since I saw the movie 300, I have been curios and excited by their beautiful and contrasty art style. I am also a lover of Western / Cowboy Art and culture. This led me to think there might be a small niche in the graphic novel world for Westerns. The western landscape and culture would be very colorful subject for a graphic novelist.

I have perused the internet a little bit to find some Western Graphic Novels and have found a couple. So far, I have seen Loveless, Jonah Hex and others published by DC Comics. Does anybody know if westerns have a very big following in the graphic novel world or have some insight into where I could begin? Also, can anyone provide some titles that might be worth checking out?

Thanks for any help and thoughts you might have.
Caleb.

message 2: by Maré (new)

Maré Odomo (mareodomo) I've always wanted to read Blueberry.

Cowboy Bebop is a great space western but that's anime. And I think that that came before the manga... In any case, you'd probably want to watch the anime. I guess Trigun is another space western anime... but I haven't watched enough of it to recommend it.

I don't really know of any contemporary Western comics. I kind of associate the genre with pulp comics.

All I can think of is Daisy Kutter, which is kind of an indie title. And it's a science fiction western. There are robots.

message 3: by Old-Barbarossa (last edited Dec 10, 2008 03:04AM) (new)

Old-Barbarossa Caleb, I haven't read Jonah Hex for ages...time to dig around in the coffer of comics I think.