Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > 2nd editions with different titles and covers

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by E.M. (new)

E.M. Lynley (emlynley) | 7 comments Hi, I'm an author and two of my books have been republished with different publishers, have new covers, content and titles. I'm concerned because the OLD editions/covers/titles show up under my name and readers looking for the new editions/titles/covers can't easily find them unless they explicitly search for that title. How can I fix this?

For example, On March 9 the original version of this book Thief of Hearts: Tempted in Thailand will cease to exist. It will be replaced with the second edition Rarer Than Rubies, which has a different cover and content. I would like to request that the image and main title which shows up be of the NEW edition, so readers looking to add/purchase/review the book will find the edition which is available, rather than be confused by not seeing that cover, and instead seeing a cover from an edition/title/book which is not available. Can someone please help me make this happen or explain why it's not possible? Thank you.

I have another book with the same situation, and readers are not finding these in order to buy/review/etc.

message 2: by Kim (new)

Kim | 604 comments The old edition will stay as the default until more people have added the new one at which time it will become the new default.

There is no way of changing this at this stage. The most popular edition will be the default.

message 3: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 43570 comments Mod
The default edition of a book is the one that has been shelved by the most users, and cannot be changed manually. As users add the new edition, it will become the more shelved one, and thus the default.