Schneider Family Book Award discussion

Welcome and intros

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nancy (new)

Nancy (mombo1) | 42 comments Mod
Welcome to this group aimed at discussing children's and teen books that relate to the disability experience and therefore may qualify for the Schneider Family Book Award.

My interest stems from my work at a state school for the deaf. I've been a teacher of the deaf for about 15 years now, most recently becoming the librarian at my school last year. I'm interested to know where others are from and if there is a specific reason for your interest in literature related to disabilities.

message 2: by Danielle (new)

Danielle | 3 comments Hi, I am Danielle and I live in Portland, Oregon. I am a grad student working on getting my MLIS at University of Washington (online). My initial interest stems from having a sister with cerebral palsy, and how much literature has meant to me seeing her experience explored in books for youth. I am also interested in how library outreach programs can better serve both youth and adults with cognitive and learning challenges, and even though it is a year away, I am considering doing something around this for my capstone project.

message 3: by Jess (new)

Jess (jessmonster) I just have a mild obsession with book awards, and I'm a children's librarian (I order children's fiction and YA). I enjoy discussing what's out there for these ages, and find that the Schneider often highlights fascinating stories that don't get much attention otherwise.

message 4: by Marilyn (new)

Marilyn | 4 comments I'm a faculty member at Indiana University and a member of the Schneider jury. I won't be able to add much to the discussion, but I will be lurking to see what additional books you think we should consider.

message 5: by Nancy (new)

I'm so thrilled to see this group growing!

message 6: by Katy (new)

Katy Pye (pyewriter) | 5 comments Hi,