Left Neglected Left Neglected question

Was this book Great or what???
Cathy Cathy Feb 20, 2012 11:48AM
Recommed you not read the inside cover or back of the book, just open and start reading, you will enjoy every page.

I am a nurse who has worked with post stroke patients in different settings. I haven't worked in an intensive rehab setting, but I am familiar with unilateral neglect. Of coures the book oversimplifies matters, its fiction, one day of struggle getting dressed does not equal the day in day out challenges. But no work of fiction shows every day of brushing teeth, putting on the socks, finding the car keys, these are "activities of daily living". Yes, it shows a few days of struggle, but the character develops over repeated practice at learning what she can and cannot do. I liked the book and if it gives people just a taste of how head injury can change a life I think it is excellent. I didn't warm to the main character at first, she was too busy trying to have it all to enjoy any of it, but I appreciated that she did learn and change her life to something more sane and simple and ultimately good for her family at the end.

Is it great literature? No. But the science is solid and the story compelling.

Abysmal? Really?

Wow. I am compelled to read your review to see if there is any validity to such a harsh judgement of what I found to be a very interesting read.

I am a nurse and, while I'm aware of one-sided neglect, it was fascinating, for me, to get some insight on what LIVING with one-sided neglect might be like.

I did initially have some difficulty relating to the protaganist, because I am not in a corporate life, I have no children and I'm not the LEAST interested in fashion (would never even notice someone's shoes, likely, let alone judge them negatively as a person based on their choice of footwear). However, after her accident, the story line drew me in.

I really loved this book. The beginning kind of dragged on, but it did turn around!