Historical Fictionistas discussion

Favorite HF Authors > Diana Gabaldon

Comments Showing 1-50 of 89 (89 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Colleen (new)

Colleen MacGregor (colleenmacgregor) | 2 comments I'm new to this but isn't Diana Gabaldon the queen of hostorical fiction?

message 2: by Whitney (new)

Whitney (whitneychakara) | 33 comments Says who?

message 3: by Colleen (new)

Colleen MacGregor (colleenmacgregor) | 2 comments I would love to find someone that I loved as much. I welcome suggestions.

message 4: by JC (new)

JC (jmnc) | 528 comments I recently read The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley and it had the same feel as a DG novel, I highly recommend it.

message 5: by Nancy from NJ (new)

Katz Nancy from NJ (nancyk18) I don't think that Gabaldon is the queen but I could be wrong. Actually she emphatecally told an online book group I was in that her book should have been categorized as fiction BUT the powers that be strongly suggested to her that Outlander be placed in romance so it might sell. They also said they would put her future books in fiction which never happened since by the time the second book was published she became known as a romance writer. Frankly I always thought her books were time travel. As for better HF writers I would suggest Anya Seton, Celeste DeBlasis, Sharon Kay Penman, Allison Wier and so on. Again genre headings blur to many but a good book is a good book. Never gonna find one author who suits everybody's needs or wants. BTW - Never cared for this writer's books and I did try reading the first two, two times and then said no more.

message 6: by jb (new)

jb Byrkit (jbbyrkit) I read Outlander all the way through. I did not like the book ..... Definitely not for me.

message 7: by Jackie (last edited Feb 19, 2012 12:49PM) (new)