The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Hi,I'm new to this Genre!

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jim (new)

Jim Hastings Hey all, I am brand new to this genre. The first and only Mystery book I ever read was Bad Boy Brawly Brown
and that was back in High school. I also read hounds of the baskerville but that was back in grade school.

Right now I am looking for a great Mystery novel, any recommendations??

message 2: by Donna, Co-Moderator (new)

Donna | 2178 comments Mod
Welcome Jim. The mystery category is so broad it's hard to recommend just one book so I'll ask a few questions instead. Do you like books that are funny and quirky? What about cutting edge forensic science? Old school or classic mysteries? Police procedurals with some social commentary? Courtroom dramas? Spy thrillers?

Let us know where your interests are and I'm sure you'll get tons of great recommendations. And oh yes, Peter Lovesey writes terrific mysteries.

message 3: by Hayes, Co-Moderator (new)

Hayes (hayes13) | 2060 comments Mod
Hi Jim, welcome to the group.

Can you give us a hint about the kinds of books you normally read? Maybe that would help narrow the field a little. (I just bought the one that Hugh recommended... who knows when I'll get to it.) My favorite author is Dorothy L. Sayers, but her books might not appeal to you.

message 4: by Jim (new)

Jim Hastings I think I would like funny and quirky,Private Eye and who done it's.

thank you both very much!

message 5: by Pamela (new)

Pamela (chevywrangler) | 173 comments I've heard Elmore Leonard is a quirky kind of detective. Out to solve crime. Never read him but my friend raves about his books.

message 6: by Jeanie (new)

Jeanie (Birdyseeds) | 382 comments Robert Crais' Elvis Cole rates high on the quirky, funny scale, Give him a try!