Q&A with V.R. Christensen discussion

Of Moths and Butterflies
This topic is about Of Moths and Butterflies
The rise of the historical fiction novel and costume drama

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by V.R. (last edited Feb 16, 2012 06:23AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

V.R. Christensen (vrchristensen) | 18 comments Mod
Since college I've been a huge fan of classic English literature, but costume dramas, at the time, were considered quite dry and boring. Then, in the mid nineties there came Pride and Prejudice, care of Andrew Davies, who showed us how it was meant to be done. A quick succession of follow ups came, some better, some not so much. Of the best, I'm thinking of Wives & Daughters, Our Mutual Friend, and Daniel Deronda. Then there was a lull. As a writer I was told there was no longer a market for Historical Fiction. No one was interested. And then, very slowly, something started to change. After 9/11 there came a series of WWI novels, then plays, and then...Dickens 200th birthday and DOWNTON ABBEY! (I'm sorry, did I say that too loudly?) *takes a deep breath* And now it seems, or so I hope to conjecture, that the market is wide open. (Good timing, yeah?) But I think there is a need filled by these works, both in literary and film format. Is our society missing something? And if so, what? What does Historical Fiction do for you? Are you as obsessed as I am by film adaptations? If so, why?

message 2: by K.P. (new)

K.P. Vorenberg | 2 comments There is tremendous interest in historical fiction despite what agents or publishers say. No matter where I have held a book signing, many folks are thrilled to find yet another historical fiction book to read.

I am not a fan of most film adaptations but do enjoy those which remain faithful to the books that inspired the films. Of course, the costuming and the settings are always great eye candy and set my imagination soaring.