The "Wild Nights--Wild Nights!" Emily Dickinson Fan Club. discussion

Favorite Dickinson Poems/Lines...

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Katie (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:39PM) (new)

Katie | 5 comments Well, since no one has started a thread yet...I thought I'd jump in, if you all don't mind.

I studied Dickinson in college during my undergrad work and I wasn't that into her. I guess I bought into alot of the stereotypes about her that are perpetuated by people who don't really know her work that well, or who feel an aversion toward her aesthetic.

Later, I spent more time with Dickinson and the more I read, the more I respected her skill as a poet and her strong mind.

Some of my favorites come from all about the same time period (in terms of the way she herself organized her poems, and as family found them after her death). I really love the following:

"Over the fence--/Strawberries-grow-"
"I've known a Heaven, like a Tent"
"The Drop, that wrestles in the Sea"
"A Mien to move a Queen"

How about you guys? What poems or lines to like/remember from Dickinson's work?

message 2: by Oceana9 (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:45PM) (new)

Oceana9 | 4 comments Yes, yes. I love this thread. Please excuse capitalization errors, and omissions, etc. as I have been drinking.

"Because I would not stop for Death/ He kindly stopped for Me"

and

"I heard a fly buzz when I died"

and of course,

"I'm Nobody! Who are you?
Are you--Nobody--too?
Then there's a pair of us
Don't tell! They'd banish us, you know.

How dreary--to be Somebody--
How public--like a Frog--
To tell your name the livelong June
To an admiring bog!"

message 3: by Katie (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:45PM) (new)

Katie | 5 comments Hahaha...Oceana...I love that you are apologizing for capitalization and omissions in a thread about Emily Dickinson. You are cute.

message 4: by Paula (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:47PM) (new)