The Sword and Laser discussion

Someone explain the point of Audible?

Comments Showing 1-50 of 66 (66 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Khet (new)

Khet | 4 comments Alright, first I understand /why/ someone would use it but as a person that doesn't want to subscribe to their monthly model I can't wrap my head around the reasons for using it. I'm all for paying a little extra for convenience but unless I subscribe to Audible, they want $61 for Elantris!

Asking nearly TEN times the normal price, I can't see the point of it.

So, is subscribing really the only way to ever use Audible? Is there any way around that model without having to pay extortionate prices?

message 2: by Aaron (new)

Aaron (scruffynerfer) You can pay a certain price for 12 or 24 books and not subscribe to the monthly fee. Either that or pay the membership, download Elantris and then cancel. I have done that before. Although I have a full subscription now

message 3: by Anne (new)

Anne Schüßler (anneschuessler) | 839 comments Actually for me subscribing to Audible makes sense in that it forces me to spend my credits. This seems a bit strange at first, but I've realized that I enjoy listening to audiobooks, but I usually go for regular books and forget to check whether an audiobook is available.

It's like subscribing to a DVD/BluRay renting service kind of makes me watch more movies.

You could argue that if I need to be forced to remember listening to audiobooks it could be that I don't really want to or don't like it, but that's not the case. It just rarely occurs to me and then it's nice to have some credits to spend.

As far as I know you can cancel your subscription at any time, so you could probably just subscribe for a month or two, get the books you want and unsubscribe.

message 4: by Paul (new)