Teen Writers discussion

NaNoWriMo 2011

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Who's in NaNoWriMo this year?!? How are your stories coming along???

message 2: by Alexa (last edited Nov 15, 2011 03:11PM) (new)

Alexa What exactly is NaNoWriMo? I've heard of it but I don't what it is.

message 3: by Emily (new)

Emily (fluteplayer2) | 22 comments I'm doing NaNo this year! It's my first year doing it. I started a few days late, so I'm really behind.

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

Can you explain what it is? I'm not exactly sure either, other then it's like a month writing challenge.

message 5: by Emily (new)

Emily (fluteplayer2) | 22 comments NaNoWriMo obviously takes place in November. You have 30 days to write 50,000 words. You have to start with a new story idea. At the end of the 30 days, you can "submit" your writing in order to verify that you have written 50,000 words. You don't win a prize per se, but you are noted as a winner if you do reach the 50,000 words.
You can always go to nanowrimo.org for more information than I've given you.

message 6: by [deleted user] (new)

Cool. Thanks! :)

message 7: by McKenna (new)

McKenna I started it this year but I was a bit behind. I hadn't heard of it before and I started writing a sci-fi but then I reread Delirium by Lauren Oliver and realized it was almost exactly the same. I had pulled the idea out of my conscious accidentally and so I deleted the story and quit. I'll definitally do it next year though.

message 8: by Emily (new)

Emily If you try to do NaNoWriMo and don't end up finishing it before the month is up, can you just finish the story on your own and post it on Goodreads?

message 9: by Emily (new)