The Invasion (Animorphs, #1) The Invasion discussion

Does anyone believe this is an adult book disguised as a kid's book?

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Anna Lee This is my favorite series, and has been for a long time since I first read them in 4th grade. (I'm a freshman in high school now). My point is that over the years I have noticed that this series is something more than a science fiction series. It's a story about sacrifice and unselfishness. I believe the topics hidden within the pages on this kid's book are really adult topics. Does anyone else agree?

message 2: by Abby (new) - added it

Abby I read the series back in fourth grade too, and a couple months ago I took the time to reread Visser. I noticed a lot of adult themes like sacrifice and unselfishness, as you said. Also, Animorphs is a war story. You can't expect a war story to be completely innocent.

Anna Lee Another thing-the sacrifice isn't just the animorphs. Some of the yeerks sacrificed themselves so that they didn't have to invade a host.
I guess this book just shows that not any being is all good or all bad. The andalites aren't all "good" as they seem to be and the yeerks aren't all "evil" as they seem. The series showed that nothing is really as it seems and it is very relatable to everyday life. I think about it a lot, because even if this series was started 14 years ago, it still applies to reality today.
Your thoughts? Thanks for sharing, I appreciate it.