Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Follow Me In!
This topic is about Follow Me In!
Bulletin Board > MAKE FRIENDS … JUST OUT OF INNOCENCE

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Paramahamsa Nithyananda (nithyananda) | 101 comments MAKE FRIENDS … JUST OUT OF INNOCENCE

For few minutes, you go around meeting people, without your identity. I am not telling you to introduce yourself to others. No! Remember: you are not the identity which you were carrying earlier. So, I am not asking you to introduce yourself. Don’t go around saying, ‘I am a doctor, I am a freelance software engineer, I am from this place, and what not.’ Try to experiment with the simple technique of making friends without using your identity! Just go around and make twenty friends without using your identity.

You should not use any of the usual things such as your job, your profession, your career, etc. Don’t use any of them. Similarly, don’t ask any such related questions to the other person either. Don’t ask them, ‘Where are you from?’ Is it possible to make friends without asking any of these questions, with just the face value… just directly trusting the other person? You are here, I am here, let us just directly trust each other! The matter is over! Why do we need our past track record to create friendship?

Introducing yourself with your track record is like saying, ‘Alright, here is my track record. You can now trust me. We can be friends!’ We don’t need such big files. We don’t need a credit report to create friends! Showing your track record is like showing your credit report. It is like saying, ‘See, I have a good track record. Let us make friends…’ No! Just you being here, or you seeing the other person is enough to create friendliness; to radiate warmth; to radiate love; to radiate the feeling of connectedness.