readers advisory for all discussion

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Susie (new)

Susie | 33 comments Hey, all. So I'm in a young adult literature class, and it's come to my attention that I don't understand and appreciate manga. Maybe I'm too old, but I feel like I should at least try to understand it. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to read first? I would like something that's not too weird, has a bit of romance, and a good-looking man. Keep in mind that I am a complete newbie to this genre.

susie

message 2: by ––––•(-•The Insomniac Book Hoarder•- (last edited Nov 09, 2011 11:23AM) (new)

––––•(-•The Insomniac Book Hoarder•- (theinsomniacbookhoarder) | 2 comments Im a massive otaku..Shoujo manga is my bread and butter =)) Below are just some of the popular mangas that fit your criteria, as well as having a good storyline (no sulking heroines and drama queens). These are the most common ones that people are quite familiar with.

Vampire Knight
Dengeki Daisy
Skip Beat
Backstage Prince
Ouran High Host Club
Hana Kimi
Special A
Atsu Atsu Trattoria (recommended)

**Head is totally blank as all the wonderful manga titles are swirling and loss in thought**

What I can suggest is to go through websites such as (mangafox, mangareader, mangatraders and etc) and go to their advance search option and tick in your preferred genre, i.e Romance and cross out things that you might find weird. I suggest going through oneshot mangas first as they are easier to absorb and are less time consuming.

Happy reading =)) Hope I was able to assist somehow..

message 3: by Susie (new)

Susie | 33 comments You are awesome, Maz. Here's another question. Should I try to buy these manga at a Japanese bookstore? I heard that you can read them online. Is that true?

message 4: by K. (new)