Authors Lounge discussion

Discussions > You know what really annoys me!

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bridget (new)

Bridget Bowers (bridgetbowers) | 212 comments Wow, Shane, that seems like a pretty mean welcome and some rough treatment. I have to admit that I'm pretty new to Goodreads and so far everyone has seemed pretty friendly and helpful.

It does seem that if you are an author promoting any book, people might want to jump to the conclusion you are somehow in disguise to promote your own. It seems like an awful lot of trouble to me, but I guess there are some people that would go to that extreme to attempt to generate interest in their own books.

message 2: by J.D. (new)

J.D. Stroube | 10 comments Carroll wrote: "I try to only be a member of groups who are author friendly and have topics for authors to post their work and such. So far, nobody has treated me like Shane has been treated. With the lone excepti..."

I had that happen with a few bloggers. I sent out roughly 30 copies to various bloggers and only about 15 of them actually provided a review. :(
I try not to mention that I am an author. I have noticed that people can be... irritable if they think you're going to be one of those authors who pushes their own book. Thus, I almost never mention it. :(

message 3: by Sharon (new)

Sharon Atkinson (darkened_angel) We are all on Goodreads for the reason of loving books, people are just jealous that you have achieved something that they have not. JD you should mention that you are an author and be proud of that fact. We should all be proud, those bad eggs are just that, bad and jealous. :)

message 4: by Bridget (new)

Bridget Bowers (bridgetbowers) | 212 comments I'm very proud being an author, but I know that there are those authors that do seem to beat people over the heads about it. I can't blame readers for not wanting a book crammed down their throats.