readers advisory for all discussion

The Old Man and the Sea
This topic is about The Old Man and the Sea
so ask already!!! > all the hemmingway

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Nick (new)

Nick | 3 comments 2 years ago i studied hemingway's old man and the sea for gcse english lit and HATED it: the dull, sterile story, the 2d characters, the idiotic narration and the absurdly tedious pace

somehow though, i see that hemingway is an important valuable american figure who should apparently be celbrated for his work.

so... i am willing to give him another shot but don't know which i should begin with. Preferably whatever is his antithesis to the old man and the sea, and maybe something like Fitzgerald and Faulkner who I adore. Please can someone make a few suggestions.

Thanks in advance x

Meredith Holley (meredithholley) | 194 comments For Whom the Bell Tolls is actually my least favorite because I think it's pretty self-indulgent. But maybe you will like it.

I would say A Farewell to Arms because I think it is like For Whom, but edited better.

message 3: by Christy (new) - added it

Christy (christymtidwell) | 149 comments There's also short fiction to consider. I've always loved "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber" and "A Clean Well-Lighted Place," for instance.

Meredith Holley (meredithholley) | 194 comments Ooo, I love the Short Happy Life, too. But, I love almost all Hemingway, so I might not be a good judge.

message 5: by Susie (new)

Susie | 33 comments Why don't you try A Moveable Feast. It's semi-autobiographical and it's about Hemingway and Fitzgerald as they hang out in France during the 20s, I believe. It's an easy read too.

message 6: by Rhiannon (last edited Nov 09, 2011 02:22PM) (new)