Amazon Kindle discussion

Take No More (James Blake, #1)
This topic is about Take No More
Author's Corner > Seb Kirby - Thriller Writer

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Seb (last edited Nov 06, 2011 02:00AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Seb (sebkirby) | 25 comments Hi

I'm a writer from North West UK. I grew up in Birmingham, left for University in Swansea at age 18 and stayed there until twenty years ago when I moved to Liverpool. Three places I am equally fond of; three roughly twenty year phases of my life.

I was raised with books – my grandfather ran a mobile library in Birmingham and my parents inherited a random selection of the books. They weren't much interested in them; they were piled up in a box room, gathering dust. I would disappear in there and resurrect much used classics – Zane Gray 'Riders of the Purple Sage', H G Wells 'The Invisible Man', Charles Dickens 'A Tale of Two Cities' and more obscure stuff that I don't now recall. I was hooked.

There was gap, a long gap, until I was lucky enough to find an inspirational school teacher. He donated his own books to make a lending library in a stock cupboard off the classroom. Kids queued to borrow the books. These were the classics – Franz Kafka 'Metamorphosis' and 'The Trial', George Orwell '1984' and 'Animal Farm', Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn 'One Day In The Life of Ivan Denisovich', Ray Bradbury 'Fahrenheit 451', Boris Pasternak 'Dr Zhivago', Arthur Koestler 'Darkness At Noon', Vladimir Nabokov 'Pale Fire', Ken Kesey 'One Flew Over the Cookoo's Nest', Aldous Huxley 'Brave New World'………….

I've been an avid reader ever since.

My debut novel is 'Take No More'. It's a thriller set in present day London and Florence.