Chick Lit discussion

Question from a writer - are chick lit tastes changing?

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michele (new)

Michele Gorman Hello lovely readers,

As a chick lit writer, I'd love all of your opinions because there's been so much kerfuffle about chick lit lately, with its demise gleefully predicted by many critics.

Two questions:
- Are the critics right, are women getting tired of chick lit?
- Is the genre changing, moving away from light, funny chick lit towards more weighty issues?

Thanks!
Mx
Single in the City

message 2: by Janelle (new)

Janelle (jhinds) Hi,
I think that I still love the style of chick lit. I like reading a book that has a upbeat modern feel to it. Sometimes you just need a break from the heavy, vampire fueled, and intense stories. I personally love to read different types of reading styles as authors progress in their careers. For example Jenifer Cruise.
I also love to read chick lit authors that can take a emotional or diffcult subject or siutation andmake it into a uplifting story. One that I can walk away from it and it stands out of the books I've
read.

message 3: by Aileen (new)

Aileen I love Chick Lit the critics are wrong, and I hope it will be around for along time to come.

message 4: by Michele (new)

Michele Gorman Thanks Janelle and Aileen, from the posts here and on chick lit book club, it's clear that a) chick lit fans love these books for their ability to make them smile and disengage from their busy lives for a little while and b) it's the industry (writers included) who are concerned about the label ... the readers just know a good book when they see one!

message 5: by Michelle (new)