Q&A with Marita A. Hansen discussion

Behind the Hood (Behind the Lives, #1)
This topic is about Behind the Hood
Art > Book Covers / Art

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Marita (last edited Nov 03, 2011 08:08PM) (new) - added it

Marita Hansen (maritaahansen) | 105 comments Mod
I was an artist way before becoming an author. My first job was as a Graphic Designer, but due to computers taking over the industry I moved away from it and instead got into gallery art as well as commissioned works, my biggest being a huge 4 piece canvas work done for the Dalmatian Cultural Society (Croatians) in Auckland, New Zealand. So, when it came to getting a cover made for Behind the Hoodand the second book in the series Behind the Tears I decided to do it myself.

So, how did I get the idea? Simple, for Behind the Hood Tama was probably the most distintive person in the book, plus he is the one that causes most of the trouble. Plus, I wanted to play with the title, including it in the image. So, I put Tama in a hoodie with part of his Moko-like tattoo showing. Therefore this gives the title a dual meaning, the literal one of behind Tama's hood (what is going on in his mind) as well as the things that are happening in this neighbourHOOD. And when one refers to a HOOD it usually means a rough place, which is what this town is viewed as in New Zealand. Apparently, Clendon Park (I call it Claydon for the story) is the roughest neighbourhood in New Zealand. I was genuinely shocked when I heard this as I thought it was a couple of smaller towns that seemed to always be on the news, where the Mongrel Mob and Black Power were more prevalent. But nope, when going for a job at the police 111 call-out I was told where I lived was the worst.