Memoir Authors discussion

General > Introduce Yourself

Comments Showing 1-50 of 1,774 (1774 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 35 36

message 1: by Leila (new)

Leila Summers (leilasummers) | 770 comments Hello friends and welcome... please feel free to tell us a little about yourself and what made you a writer!

message 2: by Sharon (new)

Sharon (fiona64) Hello, everyone. I'm Sharon E. Cathcart. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, so it's hard to say what made me a writer. I am a former journalist and newspaper editor, so essays and non-fiction seemed a logical fit. However, my fans seem to like my fiction best. :-) I will share my past and present work in the appropriate thread.

message 3: by Leila (new)

Leila Summers (leilasummers) | 770 comments Thanks for sharing Sharon. You know the funny thing with me is, that I never considered myself a writer. A storyteller, yes, I have spent my life telling stories. But my husband and his sister were the writers, the artists, the musicians. Then my story happened to me and I began to write a journal... and it became a book and so I became a writer. During that time, a journalism job landed in my lap and I began writing about local events, restaurants and people for the lifestyle section of a local newspaper. My book was published last week, so now I guess I can officially call myself... a writer!

message 4: by Benjamin (new)

Benjamin Carey (benjaminjcarey) | 1 comments Hi, I'm Benjamin J. Carey. I've enjoyed writing since grade school. I was working on my first memoir when I was diagnosed with a life threatening conditioning out of nowhere. I put the original memoir on hold and wrote a short book about facing mortality at a young age which was published this past March. I've gone back to writing the original memoir, and look forward to getting to know everyone here in the forum. Thanks for the group Leila!

message 5: by Leila (new)