Classic Horror Lovers discussion

Reading Classic Horror > Help!!...I need classic horror :))

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rob (new)

Rob Twinem (runner56) | 2 comments I'm new to classic horror...I am of the opinion that something is missing from my reading life! Having gorged myself for years on King...Herbert...Koontz...I now want to be both frightened and educated...so please point me in the direction of some good classic reading horror...oh by the way I am from the UK...Bristol and am an avid reader of horror and crime. I work at the law courts and am a keen runner and cyclist as well as reading every minute I have free...so I look forward to your recommendations....

message 2: by Cathy (new)

Cathy | 164 comments Hi Trev! If you've been reading King, especially Salem's Lot, I think you'd like Dracula -- Salem's Lot is King's homage to Stoker.

there are a bunch of lists floating around on this board for classic horror must-reads -- H.P. Lovecraft, M.R. James, and J.Sheridan LeFanu's Carmilla are good places to start, too.

message 3: by Martha (new)

Martha (hellocthulhu) | 325 comments Mod
I'm glad you're interested in classic horror. Please take the time to read our Must Read Classic Horror Lists to find something that appeals to you. A great way to sample new authors are the short stories featured in our Tales to Chill Your Blood folder. Many classic writers were prolific writers of short stories.

message 4: by Danielle The Book Huntress , Jamesian Enthusiast (new)

Danielle The Book Huntress  (gatadelafuente) | 1347 comments Mod
I definitely think Cathy and Martha have made some good suggestions. Also check out our Themes folder. We have different threads for different types of horror subject matter.

I'm a huge fan of MR James, so I'd definitely recommend him. I also loved Dracula and Frankenstein.