The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Mystery Addict

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michelle (last edited Oct 28, 2011 08:46PM) (new)

Michelle | 3 comments Hi everyone,

My name is Michelle and I’m a TV producer who lives in Manhattan (NY, NY). I’ve been addicted to the mystery/crime/thriller genre ever since I first discovered Trixie Belden, Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys back in elementary school. I love many American mystery/crime/thriller novelists. Daniel Silva is my all-time favorite. However, I have become recently obsessed with Scandinavian crime novels and have discovered a treasure trove of great authors. (I belong to the Scandinavian/Nordic Crime Book group, too.) So if anyone is looking for compelling mysteries, etc. while waiting for their favorite American authors’ new books, I highly recommend you explore that region of the world...

I look forward to enjoying thrillers and unraveling mysteries with all of you...

message 2: by Jan C (new)

Jan C (woeisme) | 35959 comments I, too, like the Scandinavian. Recently been discovering Tartan Noir.

It is a dark world out there.

Welcome.

message 3: by Hayes, Co-Moderator (new)

Hayes (hayes13) | 2060 comments Mod
Hi Michelle, and welcome to the group. I prefer the cozies and near cozies, so I'll leave the recommending to the other members of the group. We have read several Scandinavians with the monthly group reads, so if you want to check those out you can find them in the "Group Reads" folder. The threads never close, so you can jump into the conversation if you want.

Give my best to my native NYC.

message 4: by Donna, Co-Moderator (new)

Donna | 2178 comments Mod
Hi Michelle, Mysteries provide a great opportunity for armchair travel too. Check out the UN International challenge for great recommendations for mysteries set is far off places.

message 5: by Jerold (new)