Artipathy discussion

Hello! > My Handle

Comments Showing 1-50 of 91 (91 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Kim (last edited Oct 09, 2008 08:59AM) (new)

Kim | 362 comments Mod
Thought I'd let you know who I am, and hope to get to know who you are too. My name is Kim Power and I'm an artaholic...no seriously, I'm a painter, working in oils. I'm painting contemporary realism, which just means I paint my "real" world as I see it. I worked in textiles till the last three years when I switched, was bewitched, to the world of oils. I studied art education and have taken private painting lessons and am now educating myself, thus the birth of this site, where I hope to share what books I've accumulated and what I can glean from them and your insights too. You can see some of my work on my much neglected web site (soon to be completely revamped): http://www.kimpower.net/
and see some newer work and my thoughts on art and life here: http://kimpower.blogspot.com/
If you have artwork to share, please let us know where we can find you too!

Let the games begin, Kim

message 2: by S. Kay (new)

S. Kay (cobwebs) | 90 comments Great group, Kim... I couldn't find one like this when I went searching. And a great book to start with.

I loved seeing your oils... requires a great deal of patience and the portraits have a lot of life in them.

Can't wait until I can both afford web space, and have enough current pieces I'm happy with sharing together. Need to get organized!

Art was my focus in high school, and a large portion of what I tried in college. Hopefully I'll be able to go back to school soon to finish up a degree in something along those lines. Lately, I work in watercolors but I experiment with a lot of things. Acid etching was a favorite of mine, but I don't have access to the materials to delve into that too much. For now, I'm happy with pencil, paint, and pen. I'm interested in trying more 3-D forms though.