Best Teen Books discussion

Summer Reading Ideas

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by David (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:13AM) (new)

David | 5 comments A school teacher, I am always looking for more titles to recommend to 8th graders. I'd love to hear your recommendations.

message 2: by Sally (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:14AM) (new)

Sally | 3 comments David, are you interested in any specific genre? Realistic fiction? Historical fiction? Fantasy/sci-fi?

message 3: by bjneary (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:14AM) (new)

bjneary | 236 comments Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
David Lubar - a writer has a guys list of books on his website (he wrote Dunk and Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie)
Since I am a High School librarian (grades 10-12), I will check out some other titles and send them to you!

BJ

message 4: by David (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:14AM) (new)

David | 5 comments Not really, Sally. I teach English, so I am more interested in quality writing than in genre. Clearly, there is a lot of YA lit out there, and the field seems to be burgeoning. I would like some ideas that could help me separate the sterling from the slag: new releases, contemporary classics, even hoary favorites for young readers on the cusp of high school.

message 5: by David (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:14AM) (new)

David | 5 comments Thanks, BJ
I liked the conceit of Ender's Game and found myself caught up in the adventurous storytelling. It has been a popular sci-fi pick among students and always appears on my recommended list.

message 6: by Melissa (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:14AM) (new)

Melissa Robinson One of my favorites is the Gospel According to Larry. I've never given it to a teen in my library who didn't like it. Our 8th grade teachers added to our summer reading list and it's been a big hit.

Also, check out Airborn by Kenneth Oppel. There's a little something in it for just about everyone.