Young Adult Book Reading Challenges discussion

Double Helix
This topic is about Double Helix
Double Helix Discussion > Morals and Ethics (spoilers)

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Angie, YA lovin mod!! (new) - rated it 3 stars

Angie | 2687 comments Mod
The characters in this book all believe that at one time or another their actions are moral and ethical. Who do you think were the most and least morally and ethically correct?

message 2: by Angie, YA lovin mod!! (new) - rated it 3 stars

Clearly to me Dr. Wyatt has the least morals and ethics. I mean he used Ava's eggs to experiment with and that is extremely bad ethics. He kinda was real smug about the whole thing. Even having a secret area where he would keep these people. And then to think he was going to have Kayla and Eli mate? To see what that would cause? I am not a scientist and I know there is a saying like "all in the name of science" so I know that people will go to extreme measures to discover things, but I do think he went too far. I think he did think he was working for science and that clouded his judgments.

The most moral and ethical to me is Dr. Fukuyama. She was barley part of the book, but that part really stood out to me. When she talked about the person with Down Syndrome who stood up and said "what did I do wrong that you wouldn't want me on this planet" was a pivotal part in the book to me. My uncle has Down Syndrome and I love him with all my heart. I like how she says that "there's a difference between using gene therapy for the treatment of existing medical conditions compared to deciding who has a right to life and who doesn't."

message 3: by Lisa (last edited Oct 14, 2008 03:36PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars