Love Inspired Books discussion

Author Interviews > Writing advice from Ginny Aiken

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Love Inspired (new)

Love Inspired Books (loveinspiredbooks) | 1035 comments Mod
1. How long have you been writing for Love Inspired?

I've been writing for Love Inspired for five or six years now.

2. What’s something you wish you’d known when you started your writing journey?

I never realized it gets even harder after you make that amazing first sale! There's a natural urge to do better each time, but you don't have the time you've spent nurturing that first baby. Deadlines are real, folks!

3. What’s the most common writing question you get and what is your answer?

It's the same one all my writer friends get as well. Everyone wants to know where I get my ideas. That's such a tough question to answer, since any little thing can trigger the 'what if' flood of thoughts and images. The idea for THE DADDY SURPRISE came from long walks through my parents' hometown of Edmonds, Washington in early 2010. My dad was supposed to undergo serious vascular surgery, but because of a number of oddball delays I stayed with them for three weeks with no surgery happening at that time. I spent hours every day walking the streets, praying and turning to God in the middle of my anxiety.

4. How have you dealt with the rejection of your writing?

You mean apart from wailing to my friends??? Actually, after I get through being bummed out, I read the rejection over and over again, read the rejected material multiple times, too, and then put those two elements together. From there, I get back to brainstorming, again with the help of those long-suffering friends, and come up with something more workable. Rejection is really a challenge to push myself a bit further.

5. Do you have a Bible verse that guides your writing?