Guilty Pleasures discussion

Samuel Delany

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mare (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:12AM) (new)

Mare | 2 comments Okay, my friends, I obviously need to catch up on my SD. Where should I start?

message 2: by Hiram (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:12AM) (new)

Hiram | 12 comments Mod
I'm new to the science fiction so not sure how to advise on that front, but I'm a big fan of his nonfiction. Both Times Square Red, Times Square Blue and his memoir, The Motion of Light in Water, are great. The Times Square Red book is a critique of the disneyfication of Times Square and a record of the kinds of community (especially interclass) made possible by the area's gay male movie theaters and public sex culture. It also documents how development in the name of "family values" was used ultimately to displace working-class people and small businesses to make way for corporate and elite interests. The discussion on HIV is also elucidating, especially his analysis of how the rhetoric of "safety" has often veiled an assault on queer sexualities.

message 3: by Hiram (last edited Aug 25, 2016 11:28AM) (new)

Hiram | 12 comments Mod
now that Conrad has brought up Gorgik kicking it nambla-style, i'm wondering if anyone has read Hogg?

message 4: by Cassiel (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:01PM) (new)

Cassiel Hiram, Hogg is one book of Delaney's that I am reluctant to read, and I managed to make it through Phallos. Whew.
I regard the two books you mentioned above with awe, especially Times Square Red..
BTW, if you haven't read it by now, you should not be intimidated by the size of Dhalgren; the barefoot boy in rags and tatters will pull you right in.

message 5: by Kristen (last edited Aug 25, 2016 01:08PM) (new)