Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors discussion

Writing and Publishing > US or International English for sci-fi fiction?

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Michael (new)

Michael Thomas (starcrusader) As a British writer my work tends to be written in International English. It is obviously my language and the way I was taught to read and write all the way back to being a child. Since then I've written a number of novels, all in International English.

My question is probably more to do with reader expectation though, rather than what we, as writers prefer. Do you think the general reader cares if the book is in UK or US English? Would you always write in your native version or would you always recommend US English?

message 2: by Keiji (new)

Keiji Miashin I say write in the language your most comfortable and familiar with. If you're used to International English don't try to write in American. Trying to do something you're not familiar with might negatively affect your writing.

Of course if you're writing just for practice, I'd say go for it. New experiences always help.

As for my stand as a reader. I learned American English as my third language and it is now my main language. It's the English I myself write in. However as a reader I can read both International English and US English. There are differences certainly, especially some of the proverbs and turns of phrase are completely new to me, but it's not as if the book becomes immediately illegible to me when in UK English.

Forewarning though, if you write in International English there will always, always, always find some silly American somewhere going "It's spelled color not colour." and things like that. Have some flame retardant shielding ready for those kinds of folks.

message 3: by Maxwell (new)

Maxwell Drake (maxwell_alexander_drake) | 80 comments As an American author myself, I have to say Keiji is spot on.