Discovering Russian Literature discussion

GENERAL TOPICS > Translation Recommendations

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Robyn (new)

Robyn (robynpat) | 2 comments I am new to Russian literature and our book club has decided to read Anna Karenina. I am completely excited but want to make sure that I get the best translation.
Any recommendations?

message 2: by Carol (new)

Carol (goodreadscomcarolann) I really liked the Pevear and Volokhonsky translation.

www.goodreads.com/book/show/5685.Anna...

message 3: by Amalie (new)

Amalie  | 650 comments Mod
I've not read P/V translation of Anna K. I read Anna Karenina Constance Garnett translation and the authorial voice is lost in hers so I would also say P/V.

But I have to say Garnett is not bad. I think till Pevear and Volokhonsky came, she was the best translater of Russian works.

message 4: by Terry (new)

Terry Robyn wrote: "I am new to Russian literature and our book club has decided to read Anna Karenina. I am completely excited but want to make sure that I get the best translation.
Any recommendations?"

Without a doubt, the Pevear and Volokhonsky translation (also has a great cover if you can get one without the "Oprah's Bookclub" seal on it LOL). A bad translation of Anna Karenina can completely ruin the pleasure of reading this novel.

message 5: by Terry (new)

Terry Amalie wrote: "I've not read P/V translation of Anna K. I read Anna Karenina Constance Garnett translation and the authorial voice is lost in hers so I would also say P/V.

But I have to say Garnett is..."

I have strong anti-Garnett feelings. Although, to her credit, we probably wouldn't be reading as much Russian lit today as we do without her, her translations were frequently inaccurate and stodgy, and she tended to insert her own rigid cultural bias. Her translations can also be very stilted and transform a lively original into something moribund.

message 6: by Robyn (new)