Young Adult Fiction for Adults discussion

book recommendations (mysteries)

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by K. (new)

K. Dawn (kdawnbyrd) | 2 comments I'm a writer published in young adult romance. I just signed a contract for a mystery/romance series. Can you recommend some young adult mysteries for me to read? I'd like to find something other than Nancy Drew. Maybe something a little more mature since my series will have more romance. Thanks!

message 2: by Hillary (new)

Hillary (eledri) | 24 comments Clarity (Clarity, #1) by Kim Harrington
It has some paranormal aspect to it, but it's a YA mystery.

message 3: by Julie (new)

Julie Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann The Body Finder (Body Finder, #1) by Kimberly Derting and Desires of the Dead (Body Finder, #2) by Kimberly Derting are mystery but they too have some paranormal aspects.

message 4: by Julie (new)

Julie Rosebush by Michele Jaffe is also one.

Cassi aka Snow White Haggard | 2261 comments I enjoyed A Spy in the House (The Agency, #1) by Y.S. Lee .

I also recommend What I Saw And How I Lied by Judy Blundell though its not a mystery in the traditional sense.

message 6: by Jenny (last edited Jul 05, 2011 12:08PM) (new)

Jenny (narcisse) All Unquiet Things by Anna Jarzab standard murder mystery
Death Cloud (Sherlock Holmes The Legend Begins, #1) by Andy Lane a young Sherlock Holmes
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Flavia de Luce, #1) by Alan Bradley The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag (Flavia de Luce, #2) by Alan Bradley A Red Herring Without Mustard (Flavia de Luce, #3) by Alan Bradley The protag in these is an 11 year old girl so probably not as mature as you'd like, but are good little mystery books.
I'll second Clarity (Clarity, #1) by Kim Harrington . The girl has a psychic ability, but even though it's got that little supernatural aspect to it, the book reads more like a contemporary mystery.