Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors discussion

Writing and Publishing > A little less detail?

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Paul (last edited Sep 15, 2008 08:27AM) (new)

Paul | 1 comments Hello everyone. My name is Paul, and I am new to both Goodreads and the Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors groups.

My question is this...In a time filled with detail laden epics(The Wheel of Time series comes to mind), is there a place for stories like the Chronicles of Narnia anymore?

First off, let me start by saying I love 700+ pages epics. I just don't like to write them. I think C.S. Lewis was unique in that he did not rely on using minute detail, or extensive character building to make his stories great. He simply told a good story, allowing the reader to fill in the details with his/her imagination.

I went in to writing my novel, The Thieves of Whitehall, with that mentality. I began writing for myself and was pleasantly surprised when others raved about my story. That lead me to a commercial line of thinking.

How would my book appeal to the masses? When I looked the books out there I had read, I found them all to be much longer and full of of the smallest details.

Are there other authors who sell on a commercial scale who write shorter length stories anymore, or am I writing the wrong kind of story?

message 2: by Keelin (new)

Keelin in first person i would say that more detail should be spent on characters thoughts but in third person more should be used on appearances

it all depends on the point of view the book is being written in

personly i prefer to read books from the first person but im finding my book easier to write from the third person as i think it gives the reader more of the perspective of whats going on

there is also that idea that you dont give away too much detail about the main characters till about halfway threw the series or near the end of the book