Chicks On Lit discussion

Non Book Talk > Glamour magazine article

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Holli (new)

Holli I really found this article interesting and wanted to share it with you all and see what you thought about it. The question to the panel was.... "Do you have friends of other races?" and that made me think about my friendships as I'd honestly never thought about them in that way.

Just wanted to put it out there to all of you and see what you had to say on this topic....have our OWN panel so to speak :)

http://www.glamour.com/magazine/2008/...

message 2: by Tera, First Chick (new)

Tera | 2564 comments Mod
What a great discussion they had. I think I agree with them on most topics.
I've said it before on here to women I have no idea their ethnic background; but I think it really comes down to the moment when you are talking with someone and you say "AH HA!! they get me."
To me, growing up, ethnicity wasn't the issue as much as it was your economic background. I couldn't connect with the rich kids with a two parent home to save my life. I wanted to for awhile, tried for awhile, but we just came from such different worlds it didn't mesh. My best friend to this day is a friend I met at 11 while we were both growing up with a single mom in low income housing. But she get's me because we were in it together. We share a history we know from where we came. We have a bond that I can never have with another friend because of that. She's half mexican. But it's not because of that or inspite of that it's because she 'gets me'.