Happy & Brainy Group discussion

Brainy > Old School Meets New School: Wedding Digital Technology to Paper Books

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Clyde (last edited Sep 01, 2008 01:14PM) (new)

Clyde Ford | 1 comments I have one of those eclectic backgrounds that gets me into trouble as much as it gets me into fun. I'm sure a lot of other member of this group know exactly what I mean. Among other careers, I've been a software engineer for many years, prior to writing fiction.

So, for the release of my latest thriller, Precious Cargo by Vanguard Press, I created software called OnScene which allows readers to go online, click on place names from the book and fly there with Google Earth™ or Virtual Earth™.

Once at a location, readers can pull up audio of me reading from my book, watch a video interview, learn more about the history or geography of a place. So, OnScene's the basis for a multi-media experience related to the book as well.

Precious Cargo begins when a young woman's body is pulled up from the ocean floor on the flukes on an anchor. It's the second book in my Charlie Noble Novels, all contemporary nautical thrillers set along the Inside Passage. Many people are not familiar with this area of the world and OnScene is a great way to bring the world of this book to my readers.

OnScene is free to use. Click here to see OnScene in action.

For the book's website:
Precious Cargo Website

For my website:
Clyde Ford's Website

Let me know you think about OnScene.

Thanks,

Clyde

message 2: by Ilyn (new)

Ilyn Ross (ilyn_ross) | 1071 comments Mod
Hello Clyde,

Thank you for joining us. Good fortune on Precious Cargo.

message 3: by Jim (last edited Sep 17, 2008 04:31AM) (new)

Jim (jimmaclachlan) Clyde, the Google Earth plug-in sounded really awesome. It adds an entirely new dimension to a book. How hard was it to setup?